Websites - EDU 221 - Children with Exceptionalities - LibGuides at Alamance Community College

Special Education Definition and History

Overview of Special Education

Definition and history of special education

Individualized Education Programs

Video simulation of an IEP meeting

Special Education Case Law

Alamance Community College does not have a subscription to any fee-based law databases; however, here are a few free websites that cover special education court cases in regards to IEP and IDEA.

Findlaw
Offers a searchable database of Supreme Court and state case decisions. Searchable by citation, case name, and full text.
Click on "full text search" tab and search using by entering"IEP".
Govinfo.gov
GovInfo is the official database of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides online access to publications from all three branches of the Federal Government such as the Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Documents, the United States Code and the Federal Register
Legal Information Institute
From Cornell. Offers opinions of the Court issued since May 1990. Earlier opinions are also available; however, there are some gaps in coverage.
United States Supreme Court
Contains Supreme Court decisions beginning with the 2000 term. To search for IEP cases, use keyword "IEP" in search box.
Wrightslaw - Special Education Case Law
This site highlights decisions from the US Supreme Court focused on special education case law.

Family Organizations

Children with Attention Deficit Disorder (CHADD)
This association has many active local chapters.
Parents Helping Parents
This association has many active local chapters.
Sibling Support Project (part of the ARC)
Use keywords: "sibling support"

Associations and Professional Organizations

Administration for Children & Families (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)
The Administration for Children & Families (ACF) is a division of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS). ACF promotes the economic and social well-being of families, children, individuals and communities.
Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf
American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
American Council of the Blind
American Speech-Language-Hearing (ASHA)
Autism Society of America
Brain Injury Association of America
Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)
Epilepsy Foundation of America
March of Dimes Birth Defects
Muscular Dystrophy Association
National Association for Family Child Care (NAFCC)
National Association for the Deaf
National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
National Association of Child Care Resource & Referral Agencies (NACCRRA)
National Association of Early Childhood Teacher Educators
National Black Child Development Institute (NBCDI)
National Center for Special Education Research
National Child Care Association
National Down Syndrome Society
National Education Association: Early Childhood Education
National Federation of the Blind
National Head Start Association (NHSA)
Sickle Cell Disease Association of America, Inc.
Spina Bifida Association of America
The Association for Persons with Severe Handicaps (TASH)
United Celebral Palsy (UCP)

Government Websites

Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS)
U.S. Department of Education office that provides support to states, school districts, individuals, and parents in three main areas: special education, vocational rehabilitation and research.
Building the Legacy: IDEA 2004
U.S. Department of Education site designed to provide in one place a wide array of resources related to IDEA (Individuals with Disabilities Education Act) and its implementing regulations.
NC Department of Public Instruction - Students with Disabilities

EDU 221 - Children with Exceptionalities: Websites