LibGuides: Horticulture: Books and Magazines

You can browse the following call number ranges to find books on the topic:

QK 1 - QK 981.7 - Botany- the classification of plants

SB 400 - Gardening - practical operations in the cultivation of fruits, vegetables, nuts, and ornamental plants

SB 1 - SB 999 - Horticulture and Horticulturalists - Commercial cultivation of fruits, vegetables, nuts, and ornamental plants

Books from the Catalog

Encyclopedia of Landscape Design
Call Number: SB 473 .E53 2017
Offers advice, techniques, and instructions on the process of designing a home garden, including layouts, illustrated listings of plants, and simple construction projects.
Climate Change Gardening for the South by Barbara J. Sullivan
Call Number: SB 454.3 .E53 S85 2022
In this guide, master gardener Barbara J. Sullivan offers all gardeners an essential, easy-to-use resource for adapting to the new realities of increasing weather extremes, shifting hardiness zones, and seasonal unpredictability. This book will empower Southerners to grow beautiful garderns while using gardening practices that contribute to climate-change solutions.
Hydroponic Food Production
Call Number: SB 126.5 .R47 2012
Hydroponic Food Production: A Definitive Guidebook for the Advanced Home Gardener and the Commercial Hydroponic Grower details advances that have taken place in this field since the publication of the previous edition in 2001. Meant for hobby and commercial growers, the book shows readers how to set up a hydroponic operation with the options of using any of the many hydroponic cultures presently used in the industry to grow vegetable crops; provides background in plant physiology and nutrition essential for growing these crops; and described nutrient formulations and their applications in nutrient solutions with calculations.

Magazines and Journals

The following magazines are available for use in the ACC Library only.

The following magazines and journals are a sample of what is available through NC LIVE.

eBooks from NC Live

Home Grown eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 3,200 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
eBook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.

EBSCOhost - eBook Community College Collection
Focused on the academic and trade information needs of community colleges, this multidisciplinary e-book collection includes thousands of titles from notable publishers, including Choice OAT titles.