Find Articles and Biographical Information - English 231/232 - American Literature

Why use a library database?

Why use a Library Database?

Contain information from published works not found on the Internet.
Searchable by keyword, subject, author, title and date of publication.
Provide citation information.
Provide full-text articles you can print or email.
Updated frequently and include a date of publication on works.
Library databases can help you narrow your topic OR suggest related subjects.

Database Search Tips

Do not use complete sentences when searching the library databases. Use keywords and very short phrases to search. Use the tips below to get started.

Use Boolean Operators (AND, OR and NOT) to link terms in a search.

obesity AND children

global warming OR climate change

oil NOT petroleum

Try similiar words or synonyms for your topic.

obesity OR overweight

children OR adolescents

college OR university

youth crime OR juvenile crime

Search for varying forms of a word. Place an asterisk * after the root of a word.

For example: child* - This searches for the words: child, child's and children.

ALWAYS check your spelling when searching library databases.

If you get stuck, ask a librarian for help!

Credo Reference
A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
History Study Center
A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day.
Gale in Context: Biography
A biography database which merges Gale’s authoritative reference content, including Lives & Perspectives, with periodicals and multimedia. Includes more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Gale Literary Sources
Combines Literature Resource Center with Gale Virtual Reference Library in one interface. Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
JSTOR

JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization helping the academic community use digital technologies to preserve the scholarly record and to advance research and teaching in sustainable ways.

Our JSTOR coverage includes biological sciences, history, sociology, political science, economics, and language and literature.
Indigenous Peoples of North America

Cultural, political, and social history of indigenous peoples from the seventeenth to the twentieth century.
African-American Poetry
Poems from 1750-1900 including Lucy Terry Prince, Phillis Wheatley, Jupiter Hammon, Paul Laurence Dunbar, and more.
Twentieth Century African-American Poetry
62 of the most important African-American poets of the last century: Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.

Google Advanced Search

You can use Google! Just use it strategically.

Google Advanced Search is a way to search google that helps you find better sources faster.

English 231/232 - American Literature: Find Articles and Biographical Information

amlit

Why use a library database?

Database Search Tips

Google Advanced Search